vswpaper's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Avoiding the party

Stalled for a while. For some reason, I just couldn't keep going into Mrs. Dalloway once I started. I read in the biography up to its publication, and read "Mr. Bennett and Mrs. Brown" because the bio made it sound as if I might find something there (but no). But Mrs. Dalloway remains ignored. I also read several pieces in The Mrs. Dalloway Reader, which included the E.M. Forster essay so I can quote it without resorting to the back cover of JR. That happened partly because I'm reluctant to read the main novels on the bus, and the Reader lets me feel I'm not really goofing off.

At the moment however, I have been. So it's back to Mrs. D tonight, even for just a few pages. Because I'm starting to get a little anxious about finishing this year.

9:07 p.m. - 2006-11-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

inarticulate