vswpaper's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Solid progress

Whew. I just finished what I think of as the brush clearing I need to do in order to get started building, as it were, the main argument. Right now it's running 5 pages, in double-spaced 10-point Times. I'm not sure what the actual length is supposed to be, and I haven't recently done any comparisons in Courier--I think 12-point would simulate the typewriter pages of my youth. As I recall, those worked out to 250 words/page, making the 20-page target about 5,000 words. A little more word-count goofing may be a good way to start tomorrow.

The great thing was getting 2 pages done today, which was my goal. I've been away from the paper for a couple weeks because some work came in and I had a hard time getting the necessary time cleared and my brain back to task. My hope is that in the next two days, since Monday's a holiday, I can get 3 pages done each day. That may end up being the bulk of the paper--we'll see.

As a bonus, my friend who has the literary taste the most like mine just left me a message that she liked the first 5 pages. What a relief. I have it out to another friend, who's the best writer I know, and now I'm hopeful I'll get a good response from her.

10:33 p.m. - 2007-02-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

inarticulate